Getting Back to Basics

I’ve always enjoyed trying the new toys and there are a lot of neat guns out there that interest me. However it’s time for me to stop looking for the new shiney and to focus on the basics. Maybe it’s just my age, but I think having a bleacher seat to the most recent urban upheaval has more to do with it. If things had really gone pear shaped (and don’t think there wasn’t those who wanted it to) temporarily I wasn’t adequately prepared. Sure if the world goes to hell in a hand basket I’d be OK for a while, but large scale unrest that eventually settles down is another issue.

To this end 2015 will begin a new focus; training and logistics. Right now I have to purchase 13 different types of ‘food’ to feed what’s in my safe. My plan is to focus on 4 with two others considered ‘nice to have’. Most of the rest of the calibers will be sold and the funds used for ammunition, spare parts, and range time/training.

The focus here will continue to be gun rights, proper use of firearms, industry news and gear reviews. The gear reviews will focus on quality gear that hopefully won’t break the bank. At time I may post links to other sites that have already done the research and testing like Blue Collar Prepping. I’d rather generate traffic for someone else than duplicate effort. Though if I go hands on with a product someone else has reviewed I will post my own thoughts.

Finally I am embarking on a long-term project mainly because my time is limited with two jobs. I will be writing a long article that may qualify as a short book on practical gun collecting. People who like firearms do tend to collect them. The problem is a lot of the time we collect them and then later on wonder why we purchased something when there were or are better options. Now there are those who collect just for collecting’s sake and I have no problem with that. But what I will be writing will not be for them.

2015 is going to be a year of new beginnings and hopefully it’s a fun one.

Comments are closed.