Why I voted #Pincus4NRA (and you should too)

A few weeks ago Rob Pincus announced his candidacy for a seat on the NRA Board of Directors. For me it wasn’t even a question as to whether or not I would vote for him. Rob makes his case for why he should be on the board here and addresses some of the controversial statements he has made that people misinterpreted here. Monderno also addresses these issues here. Rob’s candidacy has even earned the endorsement of Massad Ayoob.

Now these are all good reasons why you should vote for him if you can, but I would like to add another reason based on my own limited interactions with Rob Pincus.

1. He is not afraid to slaughter sacred cows if he has sound reasons for doing so. When Rob excoriated the mini-1911 platform specifically and the 1911 in general for daily carry, people (including your truly) were righteously indignant. However, his points were valid and the disagreements were emotional rather than factual.

2. He is quick to forgive and move forward. I am a small minnow in a big ocean of gun bloggers, yet when I admitted my fault Rob was very gracious when he really didn’t have to pay any attention to what goes on here.

3. He has an open mind when it comes to legitimate differences of opinion. Just because you may not agree on something doesn’t mean he won’t listen to what you have to say. Rob is very analytical and constantly searching for ways to do things better, he doesn’t let his ego invest in what he does or how he does it.

These three things I have seen from Rob Pincus tell me one thing and that is based on my limited experience he is a man of integrity. He won’t shy from controversy if he feels he is right (and uncomfortable as it may be to you he probably is). He won’t hold grudges or try to advance a hidden personal agenda and he doesn’t do things solely to gratify his own ego. That’s not to say he doesn’t have a lot to be proud of, just that everything he has done and continues to do is for the shooting community first. This is why I think he deserves a seat on the NRA Board of Directors, if not this year then next year for sure assuming he still wants it. That is why I will do what I can to see that Rob wins a seat.

Comments are closed.