Shaking things up and moving to a new platform for EDC

Last year Rob Pincus got himself in a bit of a dustup over comments he made about compact versions of John Browning’s Iconic 1911. Being a huge fan of the 1911 I likewise took umbrage to the comments, but then I applied what I do every day (which is to challenge assumptions) to my choice of defensive weaponry. I’ll take you through the processes I applied and the conclusions I came to.

Risk Analysis

Risk analysis is something we do every day. Sometimes we don’t even realize it. An example would be how fast we drive or the route we take to work. We analyze the risks and behave accordingly.

As I was pondering my choice of the 1911 I looked at risk. Some of the ones I considered were the need for more than 8 rounds on board the gun (My preferred CCW 1911 uses a compact frame and a Commander length slide). This didn’t rate high on my list, but what did was damage to or loss of the gun. I have heard more than my share of armed citizen nightmares about how their gun was dropped, kicked or otherwise abused before the officer gave it back to them, other times someone would get wrongfully arrested, their gun confiscated and then they face a long legal process to not only clear their names but to also get their property back. Sometimes the efforts to get their property back failed. That sucks when the gun in question is priced north of the $1000 mark and/or is no longer made. Even worse is the fact that in my own experience no 1911 is alike. Meaning you will have to get used to the personality of the gun when you do manage to replace it.

Now before anyone gets up in arms about me bashing cops I want to make one thing clear. My opinion is that the officers involved in these incidents are the outliers not the norm. I have personally had nothing but pleasant experiences when encountering law enforcement while armed. Hopefully I always do but the risk is there and it is also there if I actually have to use it. Then your firearm WILL be taken as it is now evidence. There is a reason why in many officer involved shootings the officer’s supervisor shows up with a replacement gun. Armed citizens will not have the luxury of having a police sergeant hand them a replacement gun to keep until the investigation/court cases are done. That means not only should you have a gun that can take some abuse, you need one that is easy to own two of or replace. Personally I would prefer to have a second one available.

So in the end I decided that losing a $1000+ gun that is no longer made was an unacceptable risk for me so then I had to figure out a replacement.

In our next installment we’ll discuss how I went about choosing a new platform

 

One response to “Shaking things up and moving to a new platform for EDC

  1. Pingback: New EDC Pt II | Ordnancecorner's Weblog