I still think giving your wife a .25 auto is grounds for divorce

Many years ago when I still worked behind a gun counter the shop got a phone call from a concerned husband wanting to get his wife a .25 auto for personal protection. The owner’s response: “How good is your divorce lawyer?”

Now as this post at The Smallest Minority illustrates, that doesn’t mean the .25 auto won’t work. Just that it’s not the best tool available for the job. With the Kel-Tec and Ruger .380s I would opine that the .25 is on its way to joining to Dodo bird and if it isn’t, it should be.  Given the choice I’d rather have a compact 9mm or .38 special as a minimalist firearm, but sometimes the compact .380s are the best you can do.

One response to “I still think giving your wife a .25 auto is grounds for divorce

  1. I have to take issue with your deprecation of the .25 ACP as a self-defense round.

    Even a .22 short can be useful for self-defense as shown by the following testimonial:

    On Bud’s Gun Shop Forums the question came up: What is the smallest caliber you trust to protect yourself? A 22 short should do it….think not…read on…….. My personal favorite defense gun has always been a Beretta Jetfire in 22 short. Over all the years I’ve been hiking I never leave without it in my pocket. Of course we all know too the first rule when hiking in the wilderness is to use the “Buddy System.” For those of you who may be unfamiliar with this it means you NEVER hike alone. You bring a friend or companion, even an in-law, that way if something happens there is someone to go get help. I remember one time hiking with my brother-in-law in northern Alberta. Out of nowhere came this huge brown bear and man was she mad. We must have been near one of her cubs. Anyway, if I had not had my little Jetfire I’d sure not be here today. Just one shot to my brother-in-law’s knee cap and I was able to escape by just walking at a brisk pace.