The whole Zimmerman/Martin Kerfluffle

This case has already been covered by a lot of people (there’s 6 links there, read them all) elsewhere so I’m not going to bother with an analysis. What I am going to do is call out everyone out there who already has Zimmerman tried, convicted and executed in this case. We do not have all of the facts. What we do have is a narrative put forward by ACRAs and the media (but I repeat myself) that Martin was a precious little crumb cruncher who never intended to do anyone harm and was executed by a racist Hispanic White guy.

Are there things Zimmerman could have done differently? Yes. But all the wailing and gnashing of teeth over his not following the dispatcher’s directions are a waste of oxygen. I recall hearing one 911 tape where the dispatcher told the woman cowering behind her bed as her assailant battered down her bedroom door to put her gun down. She wound up killing her attacker in Self-Defense, the officers arrived several minutes after the fatal shots were fired. Long enough for her to be the corpse and him the only one living in the house when cops arrives. We weren’t there, the dispatcher wasn’t there, and there is no way to tell exactly what Zimmerman saw.

We need to let the process work. The responding officers saw something that justified not arresting Zimmerman. The Grand Jury is now going to review that decision, and if necessary a jury as well. If the evidence points to Zimmerman having committed a crime then by all means let him pay his debt to society. If it doesn’t, I would like to see those who have already convicted him in their own minds and internet postings to apologize and learn to shut their pie holes until all the facts are known. I doubt they will, but a “I’m sorry, I was wrong and I wrongly disparaged an innocent man’s reputation because I put emotions before facts” would be nice for once.

4 responses to “The whole Zimmerman/Martin Kerfluffle

  1. Now there is a grand jury I would love be called to. But I’ll bet being a Florida CCW holder, I wouldn’t qualify.

  2. I’m with you on this. My initial instinct is the public outcry one, Zimmerman is probably the screw up, but I don’t have him convicted yet in my mind. I’m with you, we need to know more before we can just declare him guilty. I don’t even think the “stand your ground” law is bad, if he wasn’t inside the bounds of the stand your ground law then he was by no means in the bounds of the law and the law was misapplied, that needs to be dealt with separately from the rest of it.

    Find the facts, ignore the media filtered version of the facts, go from there.

  3. Pingback: SayUncle » Martin shooting, more stuff

  4. Pingback: Justice by protestor. « Guffaw in AZ