Anniversaries

20 years ago today near San Antonio Texas I lined up with a group of people I’d been living with for the last six weeks. We were all dressed the same; Light Blue shirts, Dark Blue Polyester slacks, dark socks, leather shoes polished to a mirror finish and dark blue hats that looked like they belonged on a bus driver. Each of us sported a small cloth covered pin on our shirts, a few two. Some had patches sewn on to their sleeves others had none. But we all were there for the same reason, we had completed our first step into a new world. We were graduating from Basic Training.

I’m pretty sure the rest of the graduates felt the same way as I did. A little nervous about what lay ahead but at the same time anxious to begin my adventure in the peace time Military.

Thirteen Days later Iraq would invade Kuwait.

Comments are closed.