5-year-old shot and killed


If this had been done by anyone other than Police Officers we’d be watching the pundits on CNN talk about how badly we don’t need to allow civilians to be armed, after all the Police and the Military are much better trained. Ergo they are more trustworthy to handle firearms safely.

My experience has been that the worst offenders of the rules of firearms safety tend to be wearing a badge. That’s not to say you can’t have a badge and be one of the cognoscenti, just that it is uncommon.

Rule 1: All guns are always loaded
Rule 2: Never let the muzzle cover anything you are not prepared to destroy
Rule 3: Keep your finger off the trigger until your sights are on the target
Rule 4: Be sure of your target and what is beyond it

2 responses to “5-year-old shot and killed

  1. Wow, that’s a pretty blanket statement. And an offensive one, too, since I am a police detective.

    And a whole category entitled “Cops Behaving Badly?” I don’t think I’ll be back. Feel free to remove me from your blogroll.

  2. ordnancecorner

    Well, Wyatt I’m sorry to dissapoint. I think the second paragraph sums up my feelings quite well on the matter.

    As I used to be a cop of sorts myself (USAF) I have a hard time seeing how it could offend and having a category titled “Cops Behaving Badly” seems fitting considering that some do.